Afghan-I-Can

It’s been years since I’ve crocheted.  I don’t dislike it… that’s going too far.  I just have so many other things that I love that I can’t say I LIKE it.  Does that make sense?  However in my chair arrest, I have to admit that crocheting is something I force myself to do.  I want the sense of accomplishment when this afghan is complete, I want the relaxation that the rhythmic motion of the hook purportedly gives.  It can’t hurt since moving around can!

So, about a week into my convalescence (how elegant that makes sitting in a chair sound) I struggled through Wal-mart and bought a bunch of yarn.  For an afghan. So….

The Ingredients:

Yarn:  Bernat Super Stripes 

Hook:  Boyle “N”                  

I chained about six feet and am doing just a simple single crochet up and down each row.  It’s working perfectly because it still shows the cool stripes and I don’t have to think about what I am doing.  When I run out of yarn, (I’ve done two skeins and part of a third and have about 14″ done) I’ll do a big black border on each side of the center thing until it is at least 54″ wide or so.

My current progress is …

One thought on “Afghan-I-Can

  1. I like to crochet somewhat too. I am just learning how to do it… I have figured out the three or four basic stitches… single, double, half double, triple.. i want to learn a shell, I learn out of a book… I have a hard time makeing the rows even, and not making the edges slant one way or the other.

    But I did manage to finish a baby blanket in a double stitch. Looks alright, feels even better. I love your site!

    Mrs. Meg Logan

Leave a Reply

