Step One In My New Wardrobe

So I’m sick of frump.  I’m good at it, but just bcause you’re good at something doesn’t mean you should do it.  I mean, what if your talent lies in destroying things?  Should you do it because you’re good at it? 

Well, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

So… I found this pattern…

I started with the skirt.  My body is such a strange shape that I needed to give it a shot. 

I knew I didn’t need the full width (what a relief!) but I wanted my hips to have all the room they wanted while not bunching at my waist.  And, considering that my rib cage is less than 2″ from my hip bone, I need all the help I can get.

I sewed the first seams on the normal stitching line.  Mercifully, the skirt fell off.   I then sewed another 5/8″ seam inside the side front panels.  This almost solved the bagginess issue but not quite. 

 

There was still that little issue of the waist being a smidge too big even once I added elastic.  I wanted as little bunchiness there as possible so I eased in a bit on the side seams as well.

Finally, a skirt I’m ready to sew! 

Here are my fabrics…

Won’t it be fabulous?

I can’t wait!   More on it later!

4 thoughts on “Step One In My New Wardrobe

  1. Pingback: Cordially Raspberry! « Eclectvity

  2. Mom, that is too funny. I didn’t notice it but.. ahem, we bought the same pattern!!!!!!!!! LOL! I’ll take pics of mine soon.

Leave a Reply

