I Took a Shot and…

It was a BIG one… but I succeeded!

Isn’t it adorable?  I watched a video on the Stampin’ Up! site the other night and the demonstrator explained that you can put up to eight layers of fabric in the Sizzix Big Shot.  That amazed me.  I mean, I knew it could cut fabric, but WOW.  At first, I didn’t know if you could use batting in it, but when I read that you can use felt, I decided to go ahead and try it.  I mean, 100% cotton flat batting has to be comparable, right?  Well, I was looking for a blog prize for my Coin Jar Contest over at Paradoxology and asked here for suggestions.

Susan suggested that I do coasters.  At first, I tossed that idea out.  After all, Lori won coasters for a coaster contest I did a while back.  Why coasters again?  Then I thought about the Big Shot… the Circle Scallop die… and well… let’s face it, I had to try.  I’m weird that way.

Ingredients:

  • Fabric  (I’m guessing 4.5 x 4.5″ squares?  Or maybe 5 x 5″ like you get in charm packs.  Just sayin’.
  • Cotton Batting (same size squares)
  • Sizzix Big Shot Die Cutting Machine (I LOVE mine btw… LOVE)
  • Large Scalloped Circle Die
  • Embroidery Floss
  • Fray Check
  • Needle
  • Scissors

Sorry about that fuzzy shot.  No idea WHY it’s like that.  OY.

See, just lay 2 pieces of fabric down (I went with 2 instead of four because this is thicker than quilting cotton)

This is what it looked like when I was about to run the batting through the machine…

And what it looked like after it went through.  Easy Peasy.

The stack ready to go… I had 4 different fabrics and mixed them up, but for some reason, in all my pics, you only see this one.  Weird.

This is it when it’s all done and ready to be put away.  Thank you Big Shot…

Here are 4 of the eight pieces needed.  That’s my nice stained ironing board.  Transparency is great for controlling the whole pride issue.

I just layered them up… wrong side up, batting, right side up.  Then Pin if you’ve declared your pin dependence.  Otherwise, just keep em layered.

Fray check all edges of the FABRIC (I didn’t do the batting.  Front and back.

Working on hand stitching.  I did a snail running stitch from outside edge to center, and then I did a blanket stitch around the edges.

And one last time…

Isn’t it adorable?  I’m going to make four of these and they’ll be a blog prize for March Coinage over at Paradoxology.

And yes… I do feel like a big shot now.

8 thoughts on “I Took a Shot and…

  1. Pingback: March Coinage « Paradoxology

  2. Very nice! I think I’ll give it a try. BTW, I thought that the first picture was of a cracker. I though, “how did she stamp on a cracker?” DUH.

Leave a Reply

