Hedgie

Her name is Hedgie, and she shall be mine, and she shall be my Hedgie.

Isn’t she cute?  She makes me smile.  She was going to be a comic twist on an elegant card, but the satin edged ivory ribbon that I thought I had was gone.  Sniff.  So, instead, she became the simple and sweet cutie here.  See, Hedgie is just a simple girl.  She’s fun, she’s cute, but elegant and sophisticated doesn’t work with her adorable face and rounder body.  So, she tried to surround herself with the finer looks.  She was going for chiffon and satin, white and ivory, and look… she even tried a smokey eye with her eye shadow, but when it boiled down to it, you can’t mix bagels and caviar.  Ask Benny Goodman’s mother.  She’ll tell you.  So, she settled for dotted Swiss ribbon and she’ll just have to deal with it.

Ingredients:

SU Mellow Moss card stock

SU Mellow Moss ink pad

SU Naturals Ivory card stock

SU Glossy White card stock

Soft Suede ink pad

SU Fun and Fast Notes stamp set

SU Sanded background  stamp

Adhesive

Markers (Martha Stewart)

Dotted Swiss Ribbon… from my stash

Crop-o-Dile

2 eyelets

The Process:

As you can see, this is a simple card.  First, I cut my card out of Mellow Moss card stock and folded it.  Nothing stunningly brilliant there (ok, there is nothing stunningly brilliant about the card at all, so let’s just get that out of the way now, ok?).   Then I took the ___ stamp and inked it up with Mellow Moss ink.  I wanted just a hint of texture on the card.  Success!  Then I cut a  strip out of the white card stock and a smaller one, almost a square, out of the vanilla.  I tore all edges of the white but only the right side of the ivory.  I liked the contrast.  I made another one of these cards and tried stippling the edges in the Soft Suede rather than just dragging them across the pad like I did on this one, but it just looked dirty instead of aged.  So, I don’t recommend that.  Just sayin’.  So, yeah, I dragged the edges of the ivory.  Then I just layered them suckers, taped them down, and it was time for ribbon.

The satin-edged sheer ribbon I thought I had wasn’t where I thought it was.  So, I had to think.  I tried a dozen ways to take it from blah to elegant, but none worked.  Poor Hedgie.  So, instead, I went from blah to cute.  This was harder than you’d think.  Just stringing the ribbon looked boring.  It was too narrow.  So, I put in two eyelets 1/2″ apart, and then wove it through them before tying.  Very cute if not stunningly brilliant.  I can go for cute since we’ve already established my lack of stunning brilliance.  My husband has cornered that market.  Just ask him.  He’ll tell you.

There you have it.  Pretty basic card, but isn’t she just the cutest thing?  She is why I bought the set.  I just had to have the silly little thing.

3 thoughts on “Hedgie

Leave a Reply

