SC02- Happiness~

This card was just “happy,” hence the name.  The picture doesn’t do it justice.  The pink paper has a LOT of orange in it.  So  much orange, that my daughter said, “Don’t use the orange button; there’s too much orange already.”  Why the orange doesn’t show up on the pink side, I don’t know.  Chalk it up to a camera that hates orange.

The sketch for this card was really simple.  As you can see, I rotated the number two element.  I wanted this cone flower on the card with that paper, and to get it, I had to turn it.

To see more cards made with this sketch, go here.

So, let’s see what makes this card, this card!

Ingredients

Stamps- Unity May Store Kit of the Month

Paper- SU Apricot Appeal (I’m not kidding), Winter Mini “Hugs Love Notes cards,” “Designer Paper” of obscure origin.

Ink- Versamark, SU More Mustard (for the envelope), SU Chalks

Embellishments- purple SU paper of some kind cut out with the Sizzlets buttons and spare buttons.  Dazzling Diamonds (I am so sorry) glitter.

Adhesive- Dimensionals, SU Glue, and ATG tape

Accessories- SU Eyelet Punch, Big Shot

I trimmed 1/4″ off the edge of the front of the card so that the eyelets would be “See through.”  The first card, I put the pink paper all the way to the right.  I didn’t like it as much.  Just sayin’.  Then, with the “designer papers” down, I inked up the cone flower stamp with Versamark, stamped it on the Sending Love Notes scalloped piece, and then used the SU chalks to color it in.  Love that technique.  So simple but so pretty.  Then, I added glitter to the tips of the leaves and petals so that it’d almost look like dew.  Since the pink paper has glitter, it kind of tied it in.  I liked it, and I’m not a big glitter fan to begin with.  Sue me for the dangled preposition.  Go for it.

Then I used dimensionals to attach it to the card.  I used thin glue dots to add the buttons to the die cut buttons, and then added them to the card with more dimensionals.  This card has dimension.  Just sayin’.

So, how’d I do?  Can you still tell I did the sketch, or did I deviate too much?  Curious minds want to know.  Don’t forget, if you comment, you’re entered in for a chance to win a boatload of hand made cards when I’m done with this mess.

10 thoughts on “SC02- Happiness~

  1. I think the only possible deviation in your sketch compared to the others is the numbering of the layers. If I’m reading your directions right 1-B could be a 2 since it’s the next layer and not just laying side by side with 1-A. Sketch itself looks great to me and I wouldn’t have a problem recreating the effect even without a picture of a finished product. Love the stamped flowers on the envelope. They really give it a complete polished look.

  2. I am not a huge fan of orange and pink, but I think the card turned out nice and I do like it when people take risks that I am too safe to take.

  3. Pingback: SC02- Tending the Sparrows « Sodbuster’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

