SC03- Grow a Little Faith

I had such a hard time figuring out what to do with this card.  You see, the sketch had two overlapping rectangles that just SCREAMED “make tickets” except that I already had made tickets… in SC01.  Not a good thing to duplicate everything all the time.  So, I kept thinking, wondering, and contemplating my navel the meaning of life.  Let me show you.  There is the sketch.  See the rectangles?  I was stumped, I tell ya, stumped.  Primarily because my idea options were things that either

1-  someone had already done (playing cards there)

or

2- were too close to SC01 (tickets)

I thought about doing bookmarks in a pocket, but I’ve already done a bookmark card.  Yeah, I’m becoming redundant.  So, I went to bed, convinced that I’d never get past sketch three, and woke up this morning at the ungodly hour of 8:00 a.m. (I went to bed at 3 a.m.) with this idea.  The number 3 rectangle would be brown for dirt.  I’d tear the top to make it look “dug in” and then I’d put seed packets on stakes.  They were sort of rectangley and that was good enough for me.  But… I still had a problem.  You see, I wanted the card to be more than elements.  I thought some more.  Then the idea of “growing your faith” came to me.  LOVED it.  Wanted to do it badly.  Of course, there was that little problem of not having the words, but I played around and voila!  Le Card.  Let’s talk about what I used and how I did it, shall we?

Ingredients

Stamps- Arte Oriental, Jumble Alphabet, For All You DoUnity May Store KOM, Punched Posies

Ink- SU Mellow Moss, Always Artichoke, More Mustard, Sahara Sand, and Soft Suede

Paper- SU Goober Green or some equally nauseating name that I don’t know, Kraft, and Naturals Ivory (I just LOVE the name of this one… so… un-alliterative!)

Tools- Butterfly Embosslits Die

Accessories- Brads & chipboard (that I “repurposed” from stacks of paper!)

Adhesive- ATG-714 and thin glue dots

First, I used the grassy bits from the Arte Oriental on the base of the card(Mellow Moss)  and the envelope (Always choking me Artichoke). Then, I took the little Sending Love Notes Kisses things, used repositionable adhesive on it, slapped it on naturals ivory paper, and cut around it.  I lightly sponged the edges with Soft Suede and then dipped a pencil (dull) in the ink pad around the edges (so as not to damage the main part) and “dotted”(soft Suede) around the edge of the card.  I masked the leaf (Artichokeness) from Punched Posies so that the tip wouldn’t show through the flower and then used the flower (Moldy… er Mostly Mustard) from For All You Do.  It looked good to me!  Then, I wrote 5 cents with the c and a slash through it that I can’t find a code for anywhere.  Added seeds at the top for maximum alerting to the point of what the things are.  I cut the chipboard into various lengths, sponged the edges just a smidge, and then attached with glue dots.

Then it was time for the dirt.  At first, I had it way too wide.  I tore the top, sponged with Soft Suede, and kept trimming until I liked it.  I think it ended up half as wide as I started with.  I glued the stakes to the “dirt” with glue dots, and then used ATG tape to put it on the card.  I started with 6″ wide and trimmed it off once I was done.  I did that because I wanted to be sure the bump from the chipboard didn’t make the strip too short.  It was a good decision.  Just sayin’.

I didn’t have the right saying, so I  had to fudge.  I wrote “grow” with my jumbled alphabet and then used “have a little faith”  from the May KOM and colored with a marker leaving off the “have”.  It’s not exactly what I’d want, but I like it.

All in all, I consider the card a success.  What do you think of my “overlapping rectangles”?  Is it too much of a deviation or a fun innovation?

10 thoughts on “SC03- Grow a Little Faith

  1. I love what you’ve done with this sketch! The little garden packets are genius! You are temping me to tag along with your attempt at doing all the sketches starting from 1 🙂

  2. That’s a cute idea. (One thought on the same theme, make envelopes out of those garden packets and put some seeds in them — then the recipient can really grow something.)

Leave a Reply

