SC05- Sunday Wedding

I realized late last night that if I’m going to a wedding tomorrow… I’ll need a card!  EEK.  So, I pulled up sketch challenge five and here it was.  I frowned.  to be honest, I almost didn’t do it.  I almost just made another card; however, I really wanted to keep going with this as much as possible.  So, I made a decision.  Isn’t this the point of a “challenge”?  Stick to the idea even when it’s not easy?”

Here’s the sketch so you can see why I was struggling…  That looks awfully “simple” for a wedding card.  After much deliberation, I decided to go for “simply elegant.”  I chose vellum and embossing.  Then I learned that embossing on vellum is very hard– as in it melts the paper.  OOPS.  So… after much MORE deliberation, I decided I’d try to do it anyway.  Yeah, I’m stubborn like that.  So, I started with the vellum I own.  It worked.  It was very pretty, and I’ll use the piece I embossed on another card soon.  However, I wanted a bit more substance, so I went to Staples and bought their 29 lb vellum.  Perfect.  Then I did the white on white embossing.  I liked it, but I wanted to try the Sahara on white… I was hoping it’d have a bit of an ecru look.  It did.  It’s prettified.  For closeups of all… I give you…  more pics!  And the all white/cream…

Let’s talk about how I did it, shall we?

Ingredients

Stamps- SU Elements of Style & SU Teeny Tiny Wishes

Ink- SU Whisper White Craft, Versamark, SU Sahara Sand

Paper- Papertrey Ink Vintage Cream, Staples Vellum (29 lb)

Accessories- Clear Embossing Powder, MS Pearls

Tools- Embossing Gun, MS Score Board

Adhesive- SU Mini Dots, Thin Dots, SU Dimensionals, ATG Tape

Ok, I only have white craft ink, so I started embossing with that.  It was SLOW.  I mean SLOW.  I think it took about two to three minutes to do it because you don’t want to burn or melt the paper.  I didn’t want it warped.  I’m weird that way.    The white turned out nice, but even embossing the humming bird in white was definitely slow.  Then, I did the Sahara Sand and Versamark.  You just stamp with the versamark, get it nice and juicy, and then stamp that onto your regular classic ink.  I embossed and we’re talking twenty seconds.  Max.  It was amazing.  I was so impressed.  So, I may never buy craft pads again.  Just sayin’.

I used mini glue dots in the corner and one thin one where the bird would cover it to adhere the vellum to the card.  Then I covered the corner ones with pearls.  it worked nicely I think.  Dimensionals held up the bird to give it oomph.  I scored top and bottom of the card to give it a bit of oomph too.  It was actually a very quick and easy card to make aside from driving to the store etc.

Technically, the sentiment could be considered an element not supposed to be used on this card, but using the vellum, I didn’t want it on there, and I didn’t think of putting it with the hummingbird until too late.  So, aside from that possible deviation (depends on your definition I suppose), I think I stuck to the sketch really well!

What do you think?  Is she going to like it?

9 thoughts on “SC05- Sunday Wedding

  1. Pingback: sc04&05- Summer Day & All God’s Creatures « Sodbuster’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

