SC06- Graduation Blues

So, I’d just finished sketch challenge five, and my daughter comes in and says, “Do you have a graduation card?”  Gulp.  Why no, but I can!   I pulled up the next sketch challenge sketch and here it is…

So then came the whole, “What do I want it to look like?” bit.  Braelyn agreed to the floral paper and the stripe, so I went from there.  I chose the flowers for the triangle in order to avoid it looking too masculine… it’s for a girl, after all, but I think it’d work for a boy too since the flowers aren’t ridiculously girly.  I think it fits the recipient well, but what do I know?

Let’s see how I did it.

Ingredients

Stamp- SU Happy Grad & Punched Posies

Ink- SU Soft Suede & Night of Navy

Paper- SU Night of Navy and SU Designer Paper (discontinued), SU Naturals Ivory

Tools- Sewing Machine, Big Shot, Tags Die

Accessories- Braided trim (Walmart) Circle Brad

Adhesive- Thin dots, ATG tape

This card was so easy to do. First, I cut out two striped and two natural ivory tags.  I cut around the inside of the ivory tag along the perforations and layered it.  The scalloped end I tucked inside that triangle because I wanted the end to be the tag part. I stamped the Happy Grad stamp onto the cream and taped it all in place.   After making sure the triangle would cover it, I taped it down with ATG.

I took the triangle and then stitched the end of the braid about 1″ away from the edge and frayed it.  I glued one end down with a thin glue dot and then stitched around the edge.  I popped the brad through and then taped around the right angles of the triangle.

For the envelope, I used Punched Posies stamp, stamped with Night of Navy full in the corner, and then stamped over that with Soft Suede but only about half way down.  Gave it a cool look I think.

Then I took a Top Note die, cut it out of the naturals ivory, and stuck it inside for a place to write.

Voila!

I think this one is really close to the original sketch.  What do you think?

8 thoughts on “SC06- Graduation Blues

  1. I wonder how it would look with just the cover as the card and folding some money in a creative way and giving that as the card. It is so cute, I love these ideas. Makes me want to get out my card stuff.

  2. Pingback: sc-06~ Thoughts of you~ Stampin’ Up « Sodbuster’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

