Virtual Stamp Night- “Pirate Party!”

Over at Splitcoast Stampers, they do this thing every now and then where they have a “virtual stamp night” with lots of challenges.  This time there were sixteen.  I’d never done it before, so I got started a little late, but I still managed to do twelve of the sixteen challenges!  Woohoo!  I’m going to post them all in this one post to save the facebook wall when this uploads to it.  Can you imagine how annoying?

This was the first challenge in the Pirate Party for VSN (May 2011). I did it the “checklist” way starting with the first and going down.

“Arrr” was the theme and we were told to use 3 things that start with “R.” I did Roses, Red, and Ribbon. Technically, the scalloped circles are technically “round” too.

Ingredients:

Stamps-  SU Arte Oriental
Paper-  PTI Black, PTI White, SU Cherry Cobbler, Memory Box “Rhubarb Tart”
Ink-  Memento Black
Accessories:  SU Seam tape
Tools:  Big Shot, Sizzix scalloped circles, paper piercer
Adhesive:  ATG Gun & SU Dimensionals

This was the second challenge in the Pirate Party for VSN (May 2011). “Blue Waters” was the theme. We had to use light blue, aqua, and kraft colored papers. A bonus was to use yellow like sunshine. I managed to pull off the bonus. WHEW.

Ingredients:

Stamps-  Inkadinkadoo Sympathy Stamp
Paper-  PTI Aqua mist, Webster’s Pages, DCWV, SU Kraft, PTI Vintage Cream
Ink-  SU Soft Suede
Tools-  Big shot, Top note die, Spiral border punch, scallop border punch, paper piercer and mat pack, Nestabilities labels 14
Accessories-  SU Blue seam tape, buttons
Adhesive-  ATG tape, SU Dimensionals

This was the third challenge in the Pirate Party for VSN (May 2011). “Come Find the Treasure” was the theme. Honestly, if the challenge lady hadn’t mentioned using a stamp with a mouse hiding behind a daisy, I might have forgotten these little House Mouse images that Misse336 sent me! The first set of cards were my favorite. Green and a mustardy color. Then I grabbed my smooch spray and went outside. Grabbed the dark one instead of the light. Ruined the card. So, did I stop and go get the right one for the second one (I always make them in pairs). NOOOOOOOOOOOO I decided to try to make it less “heavy” to “match.” Yeah. Garbage. Oy. So, my mouse is hiding in the cup just enjoying the wonderful aroma of coffee and getting his spa day. He’s a smart mousie and doesn’t drink the nasty stuff. 😉

Ingredients:

Stamp-  House Mouse guy…
Paper-  SU Chocolate chip, White of some kind, dp of some kind
Ink-  Black
Tools-  Big Shot, Nestabilities labels 14, Colored pencils
Accessories-  Burlap trim and buttons
Adhesive-  ATG tape, SU Dimensionals

This was the fourth challenge in the Pirate Party for VSN (May 2011). “Criss Cross Cards (X marks the spot)” was the theme. I’d never made a criss cross card before and I liked it. However, doing it in a darkened room isn’t a good idea. As you can see, I grabbed white instead of off white paper and didn’t have the time to redo when I realized it. I may or may not fix it later. Probably may not. 😉

Ingredients:

Stamps-  Paper Garden’s woman with 39.95 and hot flashes in the tropics
Paper-  SU Razzleberry, SU Old Olive, DCWV “Latte”
Ink-  SU Plum
Tools-  Ticket Punch, SU new Label punch, paper trimmer, scoreboard
Accessories-  Satin Ribbon
Adhesive-  ATG tape

This was the fifth challenge in the Pirate Party for VSN (May 2011). “Sea Dogs and Land Lubbers” was the theme. We were supposed to use some kind of beach scene etc. I loved this stamp. I discovered that using watercolor pens when you’re in a rush doesn’t produce quality coloring. I should have stuck to colored pencils. Oh, well. I like the card well enough. It’s “ok”

I also used SC145 for this card since I needed to do at least ONE sketch challenge to keep me ahead of the game.

Ingredients:

Stamps–  SU “Summer by the Sea”
Paper-  SU Blues, Confetti white, kraft, and PTI Vintage cream
Ink-  Sahara Sand
Tools-  SU Markers & Watercolor Pen
Adhesive-  ATG tape

This was the sixth challenge in the Pirate Party for VSN (May 2011). “Pirate Food, YUCK!” was the theme. Since pirates are on ships and have problems with scurvy, I gave them strawberries. Yumminess AND more vitamin C than oranges. I like to be “unique.” Hee hee

Ingredients:

Stamps-  SU Sweet & Tangy & Elzybells sentiment
Paper-  SU Cherry Cobbler, SU Build-a-Bear paper, PTI White
Ink-  SU Markers & Memento black
Accessories-  SU Button, Baker’s twine
Adhesive-  ATG Tape & Glue dots

This was the seventh challenge in the Pirate Party for VSN (May 2011). “Polly Wanna Cracker?” was the theme. We were supposed to use birds because every good pirate has a parrot. Well, I wanted to be literal, but I didn’t have a parrot so I used this partridge-looking bird and colored it like a parrot. Oh, and the card had to be square. Yeah. That afterthought happened when I was making it too. Had to rip that bird and sentiment off and redo it on a square card. Gulp.

Ingredients:

Stamps-  Ippity “Music of my Heart”
Paper-  PTI White, Obscure dp, yellow scrap
Ink-  SU Soft Suede, Memento Black
Tools-  Corner punch, scissors, colored pencils
Adhesive-  ATG tape, SU Dimensionals

This was the eighth challenge in the Pirate Party for VSN (May 2011). “Cabin Fever” was the theme. Basically, the idea that after being set to sea for ages, they get a bit loopy. So, we watched a Muppet video for inspiration and I took mine from the palm trees on the boat. Alas, I didn’t have any palm tree stamp, so I went with this one. Because I like it. 🙂 If I’d have an aspen tree, I would have used it because “Willows whiten, aspens quiver. Little breezes dusk and shiver…”

Ingredients:

Stamps-  SU “Lovely as a Tree
Paper-  SU Handsome Hunter, SU Kraft, PTI Vintage Cream
Ink-  SU Handsome Hunter, Versamark
Tools-  Ultra Thick Embossing Powder, Heat Gun, Ribbon
Adhesive-  ATG tape, SU Dimensionals

This was the ninth challenge in the Pirate Party for VSN (May 2011). “Pirates Be Thievin’ Scoundrels” was the theme. We were supposed to choose a card from our “favorites” list and copy it making at least 2 changes. I chose this one http://www.splitcoaststampers.com/gallery/photo/1736202
I did it in honor of my husband. It called for “bling.” Well, those buttons are as blingy as it’s going to get. I didn’t have black buttons so I had to use high gloss black spray paint to get them black. (I didn’t count dry time in the card making time. Shoot me.) I loved how it turned out.

Ingredients:

Stamps-  SU “Pedaling Past”
Paper-  PTI White, PTI Black, SU Cherry Cobbler
Ink-  SU Cherry Cobbler, Memento black
Accessories-  Black plaid ribbon, baker’s twine, black (used to be white) buttons
Tools-  Big Shot, paper trimmer, spray paint, Cuttlebug embossing folder “Dots & Circles” or something like that.

This was the tenth challenge in the Pirate Party for VSN (May 2011). “A Pirate Wench I BE” was the theme. We had to mesh girlie and “tough.” I went with the ultra feminine pink with roses and lace and the more masculine “screw” brads. 🙂 I love this card. It’s among my all time favorite ones I’ve done. I have a feeling I’ll be copying myself repeatedly. LOL.

Ingredients:

Stamp-  PSX Postcard Collage
Paper-  SU Kraft, PTI Vintage Cream
Ink-  SU Soft Suede
Accessories-  SU Green seam binding, SU cream lace, and”Screw” brads
Tools-  Big Shot & Top Note Die
Adhesive-  ATG Tape

This was the eleventh challenge in the Pirate Party for VSN (May 2011). “Pirate Booty” was the theme. We were assured that the challenger meant TREASURE, not a backside. I was relieved. I don’t have any stamps of people mooning, so I figured I’d be using moons. Thankfully, I had to do neither.

I tend to shy away from too much “bling” so this was fun. I went all out. Lots of rhinestones, pearls, and glitter. Even used shimmer paper and shimmery organza ribbon. Talk about bling!

Ingredients:

Stamps-  Unity “Treasure to Me” or something like that
Paper-  Amuse Turquoise Damask, SU Turquoise, SU Shimmer paper
Ink-  Memento Black
Accessories- 
SU Pearls & Rhinestones, Diamond stickles, Pink organza ribbon,
Tools-
SU scalloped border punch, MS Lace border punch
Adhesive-  ATG tape

This was the twelfth challenge in the Pirate Party for VSN (May 2011). “Pillage & Plunder A Thing of Booty ” was the theme. We had to use a map somewhere because every good pirate has a map to buried treasure. I’ve been anxious to use this paper for two years now! WOOHOO!

Ingredients:

Stamps–  SU “Plane and Simple”
Paper-  SU Soft Suede, Green Scraps, PTI Vintage Cream, Obscure DP
Ink-  SU Artichoke & SU Soft Suede
Accessories-  Brad and Photo turn
Tools-  SU Word Window Punch and Modern Label punch

Black plaid ribbon, baker’s twine, black (used to be white) buttons, Cuttlebug embossing folder “Dots & Circles” or something like that.

I’m giving away a set of one each of the 12 cards that I made!  Just comment and tell me which is your favorite and why.  I’ll draw some day this week.

4 thoughts on “Virtual Stamp Night- “Pirate Party!”

  1. Pingback: SC243- Secure in His Masculinity | Eclectvity

Leave a Reply

