SC166- Scrap Song

This card reminds me of one of my favorite children’s books. The Scrap Doll by Liz Rosenberg is a delightful story of a little girl who wants a glitzy shiny doll on TV but the family can’t afford it. The mother gives her daughter her old doll and says the girl can do anything with her she wants.

Daughter isn’t impressed. She secretly dubs the doll the “Ugly Old Thing.”

That’s about how I felt about this card a couple of days ago. I kept trying to work on it and it kept getting uglier. I finally walked away from it. Then, just like the little girl in the story, I started again. I added more of that sea blue-green, removed the leafy greens, and put a buttery yellow on it. Suddenly, the “Ugly Old Thing” started to look a lot prettier.

Ok, it might never be my absolute favorite card ever, but it is probably my favorite “save.” I’m so happy with it!

Tip:  When you use shank buttons, take an old pair of household scissors and cut off the shank.  If you CAN, push the shank through the button, put a glue dot on it, and push it back.  That’ll keep it in place.  Just sayin’.

 

Ingredients:

Stamps-  Unity KOM
Paper-  Scraps from SU, and some obscure DP
Ink-  SU Sahara sand and SU Markers
Tools-  Fiskars “Sunburst” border
Accessories:  SU Kraft seam binding, buttons
Adhesive-  Thin glue dots, ATG tape, SU Dimensionals

5 thoughts on “SC166- Scrap Song

  1. When I first looked at this card, all I could see was the adorable bird. Then my eyes started to take in all the details and it was so fun…like being at a buffet for the eyes 🙂

  2. After all you had to say . . . . . I was surprised almost at how much I DO like it! (And, um, the tip doesn’t make sense to me . . . . . . how can you push a shank through and back after it has been cut off?

  3. Ok, on these buttons, the shank is designed by the center of the flower having a loop on the back that fits into a slot in the white part. So, you cut off the back, push out that center, add the glue, and push it back in. You could also push it out before you cut it off, but I didn’t bother. I found it easier to push through after it was cut. 🙂

Leave a Reply

