SC169- Cathe’s Dream

I have a dear friend, Cathe. Whenever life is beating us down, I suggest we take off on a vacation. She always says, “Yes… some place warm by an ocean where they serve you drinks with little umbrellas in a lounge chair.”
Cathe… this one’s for you.

I had SO much fun making this card. I was looking for something to do for Impression Obsession’s “Hot Fun in the Sun” challenge. I just made a card with this stamp, so I initially discarded the idea. I was going to go with my new sandcastle stamp. Well… then I saw this sketch and since it’s next in the lineup, I had to check. Sure enough, that glass of lemonade with the vines and lemon on the side is just under 1.5″ wide. Yeah, the umbrella is wider, but I took a bit of creative license with that– just a bit. The stamp site says it is a 2.5 x 4″ stamp… The rubber is… (actually, mine’s a bit longer) but the image itself is smaller.

I wanted to do something different, so I stamped the stamp on vellum first and cut out the glass. Then I stamped it on yellow for the liquid inside. Stamped it twice on white, once for the lemons inside and the popup, and once for the “base” of all those stamped layers.

I colored with copics, layered it up, and man I LOVE how it looks. It LOOKS like a glass of lemonade! The photo doesn’t do it justice. Not even a bit, but I don’t quite know how to photograph it. I may try again later.

Oh, and sorry about the addiction to Amuse gingham paper. Yes, it’s an illness. I do not want a cure. Just sayin’.

Ingredients:

Stamp-  Impression Obsession “Sweet Lemonade” (E2306)
Paper-  GinaK Pure Luxury 120 lb, Amuse Gingham, paper pack blue, GP white, scrap of yellow, and vellum
Ink-  Memento black
Accessories-  Green mesh ribbon
Tools-  Scissors, paper trimmer, copic markers
Adhesive-  ATG Tape and SU dimensionals

7 thoughts on “SC169- Cathe’s Dream

  1. Hi Chautona, Your card is just wonderful! That drink does look inviting too! Thank you so much for playing and good luck in the drawing too!!

    Shirley

  2. Color me impressed. What a lot of work, but the finished product is so worth it. I love it. You did a great job. So, when are you going to go to the beach where they serve drinks with little umbrellas with Cathe?

Leave a Reply

