Scrap Happy

Or “How to spend 12 hours trying to use up scraps and not make a dent in the pile.”

Scrappy Birthday

chautona-card17My scrap bin is full to overflowing. After making eight cards with the “top note quilt” layout, it’s only full to overflowin’. Gee… lost a bunch there, didn’t I? Still, it’s nice and I like it. I did two birthday styles (two of each) two “get well/encouragement/sympathy” type cards, and two Father’s Day cards.

This is the feminine birthday version. I like it.

I also learned from this process that I want to DE-emboss the quilts, not emboss. Figured that out after seven embossed ones. Ahem. gulp.

Stamps: SU “Party This Way”
Paper: PTI White, Scraps
Ink: SU Bermuda something
Accessories: Buttons, Top Note die, and colored pencils
Techniques: Paper quilting. Hee hee
Difficulty (1-Easy 5-Advanced): 2–because it is totally tedious (my nod to SU’s Always Alliteration)

Quilted Comfort

chautona-card18This one would work for encouragement or sympathy, or even get well–and it’s a quilt! Who wouldn’t want to snuggle up in that quilt when they were sick?Funny thing on those daisies. I actually had to use a dimensional to hold one of them down. Ironic. Weird.

Stamps: Sentiment from who knows where
Paper: PTI White, Scraps
Ink: U Bermuda something
Accessories: Paper daisies, Buttons, Top Note die, and colored pencils
Techniques: Paper quilting. Hee hee

Scrappy Father’s Day

chautona-card19Father’s day cards are always hard for me, but I got an idea about that watch and well… it kind of snowballed from there. I like it.This is the de-embossed one, and I think it looks best.

Pretty coolness. I’ll be making more… this is an easy one that works for guys. I mean, it screams, “quilt… nap…” and then they start snoozing.

Wait. Do I want to have a snoozy card? A yawner? OOPS.

Stamps: SU Set that I can’t remember and am too lazy to get up and check. I’ll try to add it later.
Paper: PTI Cream and Kraft and scraps
Ink: Amuse brown of some sort and SU Suede for sponging oh! Versamark
Accessories: Button, gold embossing powder, top note die, whatever else floated my boat.
Techniques: Paper quilting. Hee hee
Difficulty (1-Easy 5-Advanced): 2–because it is totally tedious (my nod to SU’s Always Allitteration)

 

Scrappy Man’s Birthday
chautona-card20This is the masculine birthday version. I like it. Simple, comfortable warm…All the scraps don’t mean much in the grand scheme of things, but I’m onto more scrap cards. I’m determined to make a few dozen cards just with scraps. Yes. Yes I am

Best Birthday Bar-
chautona-card21Because those things look like bars. And it’s the best I can do. And I had to drive to Wal-mart to get ribbon to make the dumb thing look right. And while there, I had to get this… and that… and the other… and by the time I was done, I had spent 40 bucks so that I could have ribbon for one card.So, for what it’s worth, I don’t hate this card. I like it. It’s “cool” in a “what were you thinking” sort of way.

I DO hate the picture. It doesn’t do the card justice and this card needs all the justice it can get.

Stamps: PTI Birthday
Paper: PTI white, black, and various scraps
Ink: Versamark
Accessories: Fiskars punch and white embossing powder oh and 40 dollar ribbon. Ahem.
Techniques: Heat embossing
Difficulty (1-Easy 5-Advanced): 1-easy to overspend… super easy… and the irony of overspending on what is supposed to be a SCRAP card. OY.

 

Birthdays Fly By-
chautona-card22Man do they ever!This card is a shameless copy of this one HERE

I tried hard to avoid using a butterfly to make it different. I failed. So I added ribbon too. Still. Total copy. And I’m fine with that. Oh, and I used scraps instead of washi tape. See. Utter copy.

Stamps: PTI birthday, Unity butterfly
Paper: scraps
Ink: Memento black and Baja from SU
Accessories: wrinkled Ribbon ala gift from Mountainmom
Techniques: Utter destruction of its mate. God rest its fibers.
Difficulty (1-Easy 5-Advanced): 1-easy.

Flagged Your Birthday-

I think this is a copy too. I wish I knew where, but I’ve been researching scrap cards for days and don’t know where to start looking to find it again. The reason I think it’s a copy is because of where the sentiment is. My natural inclination would be to put it on the other side. So, I think I’m copying.That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it.

Stamps: SU Vintage Flowers or something like that, Verve Birthday sentiment
Paper: Scraps
Ink: Unity Pallette Umber
Accessories: Buttons and twine
Techniques: Not using enough scraps to make a difference
Difficulty (1-Easy 5-Advanced): 1- easy not to use many scraps.
One thought on “Scrap Happy

Leave a Reply

