“Skinny” Washi

Planner Madness:

I bought this planner (and I hate the cover, but that’s my fault and I’ve got a friend helping me fix it!).

ec2It comes with pre-sectionalized days.  Morning.  Day.  Night.  Considering my “morning” starts just around the time that “day” begins, I wanted to shake that up.  So I tried trimming my washi tape down to “manageable” strips by cutting down the middle.  It looked like this.

wt12Ugly to say the least. So I decided to cut one long strip.  That’d be better, right?

wt13Crooked.  And even the better ones looked like this…

wt14All wonky.  Not happiness.  I wanted happiness.  So I thought about it.  Then it hit me.  All tape comes rolled onto itself.  That’s how it’s made.  Add the repositionable qualities of washi tape and there’s no reason I can’t reroll it.  Or better yet, flatten it.  So I did.  It worked.  See!

wt15Nice and straight.  Here’s how I did it.  🙂

Take one roll of washi tape--normal width.  (For wide rolls, you'll have to cut twice.  I'll try that later).

Take one roll of washi tape–normal width. (For wide rolls, you’ll have to cut twice. I’ll try that later).

Pull out a LONG strip.  About a foot to start with.

Pull out a LONG strip. About a foot to start with.

Fold the end over about 1.5" long or so.  I think you could easily go to 2 or 2.5" but longer gets tricky in my not so humble opinion.

Fold the end over about 1.5″ long or so. I think you could easily go to 2 or 2.5″ but longer gets tricky in my not so humble opinion.

Start folding over and over, keeping those edges STRAIGHT, until you have a nice piece of it.  You don't want it too thick or you'll have trouble cutting it.  I think I decided five was about max but I could have meant four.  I'm helpful that way.

Start folding over and over, keeping those edges STRAIGHT, until you have a nice piece of it. You don’t want it too thick or you’ll have trouble cutting it. I think I decided five was about max but I could have meant four. I’m helpful that way.

wt6

Leave a bit of extra tape at the end to tape onto a paper cutter or onto your finger if you’re going to use scissors. I like the paper cutter method, but that’s because I get a bit nit-picky about these things. However, I did try it with good, sharp, paper scissors and because it’s such a SMALL piece, it’s pretty easy to cut straight down a 2″ strip.

wt7

CUT

Two nice little strips!

Two nice little strips!

The old and the new.  :D  (I wanted to say "The Bad and the Ugly" but that wasn't nice).

The old and the new. 😀 (I wanted to say “The Bad and the Ugly” but that wasn’t nice).

wt16

Even say... in the zip pouch for emergencies!  *my apologies to Christy for using orange.  I hope she'll forgive me.*

Even say… in the zip pouch for emergencies! *my apologies to Christy for using orange. I hope she’ll forgive me.*

There it is!  Fast and easy “skinny” washi tape  And it should be so easy to “trim” off a bit of my excess.

10 thoughts on ““Skinny” Washi

  1. *shakes head* Really? You had to do an entire blog post (or most of one) with ORANGE washi tape. I’m not sure we can still be friends.

  2. Could I just stick the tape to waxed paper and not have to stress about folding it perfectly? “Cause if I’m gonna fold and cut it, it will *HAVE* to be perfect…

    Is your planner personalized with your initials? 🙂

    • absolutely you could.

      Yes it is, but doesn’t it look like a diagraph? Doesn’t it feel like I should be opening it to teach phonics? NO MORE! I am fixing that sucker.

Leave a Reply

